MHMon

Writing Under the Influence: Mental Health Mondays

I am not a doctor.

I’m not a shrink. I took a couple of psychology courses in college and I’ve read a lot of self-help, but the only thing I have a degree to treat is artwork, not people.

But I do have anxiety and depression.

Does that surprise you? Anymore, it seems like everyone I meet has one of these disorders.

There’s been a lot of talk lately about mental health. A lot of people have been struggling to keep their heads above water. The current international political climate means a lot of lives are about to change very drastically over the next few years, and most of them won’t be for the better. The new American Healthcare Act will strip coverage for millions of Americans dealing with anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, addiction, schizophrenia, and a host of other disorders.

Most of the authors I know are struggling; things feel hopeless, and it’s affecting their productivity. And when our productivity suffers, our paychecks tend to go down. And when our paychecks go down, things start to feel pretty hopeless. And when things feel hopeless…well, you get the picture.

I want to create a resource for writers and other creative people. Since many will soon struggle to afford care, or be forced to find alternative treatments, I want to look at things we can do to stay productive and creative, even when our personal dementors come knocking.

tumblr_ogbz4mhjid1vw04djo1_500

So, starting in April, the first Monday of every month will be dedicated to mental health. Some posts will be written by me, but there will be guest posts, as well. If there’s a good response, I might increase the frequency to every other Monday, but we’ll see.

If you would like to contribute, you can find directions for submitting here.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writing Under the Influence: Mental Health Mondays”

  1. I too, look forward to your project.
    When I was in college waaaaay back in the old days I picked up 3 books, The Power of Positive Thinking, I’m OK, You’re OK, and Think and Grow Rich. I got them when I was in one of my down and there is no future moods. I read them. I decided to change and got a boost from the books. I have struggled with down times throughout my life and re-read them, and generally get a boost. I know just thinking myself something does not do much. It is when I changed my attitude and look for good out of even the darkest of times that I get turned around. Depression? Well, it is no fun responding to fatalities or finding dead people in fires. Yep, PTSD before there was a name for it. Part of the job being in the fire service.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I can understand that. There is someone close to me who is former fire service. Unfortunately, he’s decided mental health issues are all made up by attention seekers, so clearly there is NOTHING wrong with him. I wish he would get help, but there isn’t much I can do in this situation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

