books

Reading Slump

You may have noticed I haven’t been reading much the past few weeks. I”m in a bit of a slump-having trouble getting into any of the books I”m reading, or seeing them through. It’s not that I”m not enjoying them. The written word as written by other people just hasn’t been holding my attention.

I’m not sure what the psychology behind it is, but I know when my mental state starts to decline, I either devour books, or ignore them completely. In the fall, I couldn’t stop reading. Now, I can’t seem to start.

Tips for Overcoming a Reading Slump

Read at specific times.

Whether it’s your morning commute or right before bed, pick a time and dedicate 10-15 minutes to reading. I’m trying to read for 20 minutes or so on my lunch break at work.

Find something gripping you can’t put down.

I picked up THE HATE YOU GIVE the weekend it came out, and managed to read it in three days. I couldn’t put it down. That helped a lot with the slump–a good book coma usually leaves me energized to move on to the next book.

Reread an old favorite

I haven’t tried this one yet. I am re-reading HARRY POTTER AND THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS, though it’s not my favorite book in the series. I’m thinking about picking up one the books I really loved as a kid, SPYING ON MISS MULLER by Eve Bunting. I haven’t read it since middle school, but it was one of my favorites and really informed a lot of my writing.


Slightly off topic, but please make sure to stick around! I have a big announcement coming on Monday!

Leave a Reply

