writing

2017 Writing Plans

Well, I’ve talked a bit about my overall goals for the year, but not much about my writing. Obviously, January was pretty focused on getting THE SPIDER’S WEB back out (P.S. Did you know you can read it for free with Kindle Unlimited?) and finishing her third book, but now that both of those are done, what next?

  • ALL FOR ONE–this is a steampunk, gender-bent re-imagining of one of my favorite novels, The Three Musketeers. I’ve been wanting to write this for a while, and have decided February and March will be dedicated to its completion.
  • The steampunk short–this is for an anthology I’m working on with Ash and several other writers, and will follow one of the characters from ALL FOR ONE.
  • THE FERRYMEN–this is Evie’s 2nd book. It’s been through a first round of revisions, but I want to give it a second pass since there are some things I want to add in. Right now it’s slated for release in fall of this year, probably September.
  • DRU FAUST AND THE DEVIL’S DUE–This is my serial novella, available here every Wednesday. Dru will have a new episode up every week until sometime this fall, when I’ll be releasing the collection as an ebook. I still need to finish posting it, and then I’m going to do another revision before ebook, just to smooth things out since it will no longer be a serial.
  • MAGIC IN BEDLAM–this is the first book in a steampunk series I’ve been working on for a few years. It’s currently being beta read. Right now, I think it will probably be self-published, but I’m not sure yet what the release schedule will be.
  • MAGIC IN THE JAZZ AGE–last November’s Nanowrimo. I hit 50,000 words, but couldn’t bring myself to finish the story in the wake of the election. I need to revisit that (it’s 3/4 done), and then both it and MAGIC IN THE HEADLINES need another revision. Not sure if that will happen this year or in 2018, though.

Those are the projects I know I’m working on this year. I haven’t decided yet what my Nanowrimo project will be. I usually write at least three books a year, and revise 3 books, but the past year and a half has been really heavy on revisions/editing.

I’ve got four books I’m thinking about writing this year. Two of them already have opening scenes, and two have full outlines. It remains to be seen which one makes it as a Nanowrimo entry.

I think I need more hours in the day. Or maybe just more time I can allocate to writing.

4 thoughts on “2017 Writing Plans”

Leave a Reply

