knitting

Knitting Break

It’s  been a while since we had one of these, hasn’t it? Well, now that the holidays are over, I can share some of the gifts I made.

deb-socksThese socks are, once again, Hermione’s Everyday Socks, but they’re also a Christmas gift. I made them ankle socks, per the recipient’s preference. The yarn is one I got in a swap a while back. It’s Pagewood Farm, in their dk base, Deanali 4. The color is JF’s Folly, which I believe is an “oops” lot since I couldn’t find it anywhere in Ravelry or on the website when I looked. It’s an 80/20 superwash merino & nylon blend, and it was a joy to work with. I really loved the colors and the stitch definition. These should be nice warm socks for wearing on cold winter days. The recipient was absolutely thrilled with them, which is not usually a reaction I get to my handknit gifts. It’s a nice change. I think I’ve got someone to knit for in the future now. 🙂

This hat was also a Christmas present. It’s hard to see in the photos, but it’s actually 2 different yarns, in an alternating pattern of stripes and mixed color work (one stitch purple, one stitch blue, one stitch purple, etc).

I used Loops & Threads Elegance in Ocean and Smokey Plum, just some leftover that’s been marinating in the stash for a few years. The pattern is improvised.

pumpkinGoing a little further back, we have a gift from October–A birthday present for Missouri that I completely forgot to post.

I’m not entirely happy with this one. the pattern is modified from Caroline Lord’s Natural Look Halloween Pumpkin. I was trying to make it larger, but then started to run out of yarn…It still looks cute, Missouri loves it, but it’s not what I had in mind when I cast it on. The fact that it’s made entirely of Red Heart (the last remains from my stash!) also doesn’t really endear it to me.

But wait! There’s more!

shawlAnother project finished more recently for Missouri is this Dilosh shawl. Back in the fall, she purchased one of the Outlander dresses from Torrid (the Tartan Swing Dress, in case you were wondering), then came home in October with two balls of yarn and asked me to make a shawl to match. We worked together to decide the best pattern for both the yarn and my skillset; I told her I didn’t want anything with complex lace, since that’s one skill I still haven’t mastered. I love the way it turned out, and she’s been wearing it frequently. We had to go back for more yarn, though–it took every bit of four skeins!

The yarn is MaggiKnits Maggi’s Linen in color 21, “Chocolate.”

I enjoyed working on it so much, I immediately cast one on for myself using some Knitpicks Stroll I’ve been saving for a rainy day:

20170114_212546_medium2

I love the way it’s turning out, and hope to be able to wear it by the end of this month. More details once it’s done.loufa
I also made a loufa for the shower. The pattern is  Sudsy Bath Pouf by Willow Yarns. It was super simple, and I just used the same cotton yarn I normally make washcoths out of. Surprisingly, it’s crocheted flat, in the round. I was able to knock it out in two evenings (probably could have done one, but my wrists said no). I used the same yarn to make a cleaning cloth for our Swiffer, too, but that’s plain and boring so I won’t bother with a photo here.

socksAnd last but not least, a pair of socks I made for myself. These were for a KAL on Ravelry. The pattern is Petty Harbor by Rayna Curtis. I used Cephalopod Yarns Bugga in Giant Squid for the body of the socks, and Knitpick Comfy Fingering in black for the heels, toes, and cuffs. I like the way they came out, but I happened to use a slightly smaller needle than usual. Overall I like the fit, but I think I should have added an extra pattern repeat to the foot before starting the toe.

Whew! That’s a lot. Except for the pumpkin, all of this stuff was made from about the middle of November onward. No wonder my wrists are sore!

Leave a Reply

