books

A-Z Book Tag

I pulled this one off of Youtube. If you’d like to do your own version, I’ll leave a blank version behind the cut.

A. Author you’ve read the most books from

Most books ever? I read a lot of series books growing up, so it’s probably a toss up between Carolyn Keene and the Nancy Drew books, or Ann M. Martin’s Babysitter’s Club.

B. Best sequel ever

This is a hard one, since I’ve read so many series. Probably Seizure, by Kathy Reichs. The Virals series just throws one punch after another, and I think it has the best consistency through all the volumes.

C. Currently reading

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters.

D. Drink of choice

Depends on the season. Right now, I’d have to go with either a green tea latte, or a peppermint hot chocolate.

E. E-reader or physical book

Anymore, most of my reading is done via audiobooks, but if I have to eye read, I generally prefer a physical book. I do keep books on my phone and my tablet though, and frequently read in line or whenever I can squeeze in a few sentences.

F. Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school.

Um…I didn’t date? I still don’t date? It tends to be a side effect of being asexual…

G. Glad you gave this book a chance

Jane Eyre. This was one of the first classics I ever read that wasn’t geared at children, or assigned through school. It is one of my all-time favorite books, and the reason I started reading more classic fiction. It’s also had a huge impact on my writing, and could, by extension, also be credited with my love of nonfiction, which didn’t happen until a few years ago.

H. Hidden gem

The Eight of Swords by David Skibbins. I found this book by accident while traveling. I’d forgotten to bring reading material, and this was the cheapest book in the clearance bin. It’s a fantastic mystery series and I’m still the only one I know who has even heard of it.

Picture this: bipolar conman turns private eye.

That is all you need to know. Go read it.

I. Important moment in your reading life

Third grade. That was the moment I went from “Do I have to read this?” to “Can I read this? And this?” I could read above my grade level, but didn’t enjoy it. Once I discovered the American Girl books, that all changed.

J. Just finished

Steel, by Carrie Vaughn. It’s her first foray into YA, and it’s magnificent. It made me think a lot of Virals, probably because both involve pirate lore.

K. Kind of book you won’t read

I like to think I’m pretty openminded in my reading, but if there is a relationship that is abusive in some way, but presented as being peachy keen (50 shades, Twilight), I’m out.

L. Longest book you’ve read

Probably Little Women, though I’m just starting The Count of Monte Cristo, and I think that might be longer.

M. Major book hangover because of…

I think the last one was the first time I read Fangirl, but Cinder, Scarlet, and all of the Cat Winters books have also given me book hangovers to a lesser degree.

N. Number of bookshelves you own

4. 5 if you count my night stand, which is full of books.

O. One book you’ve read multiple times

My most re-read book is either Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, or Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey. Possibly A Little Princess.

P. Preferred place to read

Usually in bed, but we don’t own a couch right now so that’s pretty much the only place to read.

Q. Quote that inspires you

“I do not think, sir, you have any right to command me, merely because you are older than I, or because you have seen more of the world than I have; your claim to superiority depends on the use you have made of your time and experience.”
― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

R. Reading regrets

I really wish I’d started reading nonfiction sooner. I didn’t really start reading nonfiction for pleasure until after I graduated from college.

S. Series you’ve started and need to finish

I really need to get caught up on the Rick Riordan books. I haven’t read either of the Magnus Chase books, or the one about Apollo. I also need to get caught up on the Dresden Files and the Cal Leandros novels.

T. Three of your all time favorite books

Magic’s Pawn, Jane Eyre, A Little Princess

U. Unapologetic fangirl

Harry Potter, and that will never change.

tumblr_nt55i0ad1x1udwwuho2_500

V. Very excitd for this release more than others

The next Cassie Palmer book. It was supposed to be out last year, but got pushed back. A new date still hasn’t been released.

W. Worst bookish habit

Eating while reading library books. I’m very sorry if you found Oreo crumbs in your latest check out!

X. X marks the spot: Pick the 27th book from the top left shelf

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle.

Y. Your latest purchase

Gertie’s Ultimate Dress Book. Does that count, since it’s a sewing book and not a reading book? I don’t remember what my last fiction purchase was–I’ve been trying not to buy books before we move!

Z. Z snatcher–book that kept you up way too late

I’m very good at forcing myself to go to bed on time (it happens when you have to get up stupid early for work), but I think the last book I could not put down for anything was probably Fangirl. I think I stayed up about an hour past my bedtime to finish it.


A. Author you’ve read the most books from

B. Best sequel ever

C. Currently reading

D. Drink of choice

E. E-reader or physical book

F. Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school.

G. Glad you gave this book a chance

H. Hidden gem

I. Important moment in your reading life

J. Just finished

K. Kind of book you won’t read

L. Longest book you’ve read

M. Major book hangover because of…

N. Number of bookshelves you own

O. One book you’ve read multiple times

P. Preferred place to read

Q. Quote that inspires you

R. Reading regrets

S. Series you’ve started and need to finish

T. Three of your all time favorite books

U. Unapologetic fangirl

V. Very excitd for this release more than others

W. Worst bookish habit

X. X marks the spot: Pick the 27th book from the top left shelf

Y. Your latest purchase

Z. Z snatcher–book that kept you up way too late

1 thought on “A-Z Book Tag”

Leave a Reply

