nanowrimo

Nano Blog Hop author questions

Recently, I’ve been participating (or trying to participate) in the Nanowrimo Blog Hop hosted by Raimey Gallant. I was tagged with a few questions by another participant, Kyle Overstreet, and below you can find the questions and their answers.

 

  1. First off, how do you pronounce your name? Is it like “sign” or is it “Shinay?” 

     This is also a very cool name. Pen or given?
     Sìne is a pen name I’m transitioning to now that my relationship with my publisher has ended (previously I wrote as Sophia Beaumont). Sìne is the Gaelic/Irish spelling of my given name, Sheena. I pronounce them both “SHEE-nah,” but I also don’t speak Irish.
    2. What do you have to do to get the rights back on your own work? 
     I am lucky in that I have a very good contract with Torquere, which stipulates that if they fail to pay me for 1 quarter or close their doors, rights automatically revert to me. Right now, it’s just a matter of waiting on the official paperwork and notices.
    Other authors with other publishes are frequently not as lucky. The big takeaway is to always read your contract carefully, and if there is something you disagree with you either need to negotiate or walk away. NEVER give a publisher rights in perpetuity (i.e. forever), and make sure there is an out clause for you if they don’t hold up their end of the bargain. If they refuse to negotiate or set up a contingency, *don’t sign with them*.
    3. Who made your cover art?
     Covers for Dru Faust, The Witching Hour, and Birds of a Feather were all done by Ash K. Alexander.

    4. What is Dru short for? I knew a Drucilla. She should have been a Dru, but she wasn’t.

    It is short for Druscilla–Druscilla Carolyn Faust. Her name is an homage to her inspiration–Dru for Nancy Drew, and Carolyn comes from Caroyln Keene, the pen name used by the authors of the Nancy Drew books.

1 thought on “Nano Blog Hop author questions”

Leave a Reply

