The Goals

  1. Be active for 30 minutes 5x per week.
    Still not doing great on this, but I’m doing better. If you’ve been following my Twitter feed, then you probably know I caved and started playing Pokemon Go. I’m not a gamer. I’m not even a Pokemon fan. But it’s amazing how much having tiny goals (walk X distance to hatch an egg; go to Y location to refill your bag) and getting some kind of reward at the end–even just a digital one–is.
  2. Polish 3 manuscripts
  3. Pay off 2 debts
    Completed the first in July! Working on the next one.

The Books 

Books Read:

Asylum by Madeline Roux
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
How to start conversations & make friends Don Gabor
The Victorian Guide to Sex by Fern Riddell
The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston
Women, Work, and the Art of Savoire Faire Mireille Guiliano
And Unlikely Friendship Anne Rinaldi
Wired Love by Ella Cheever Thayer
North and South by Elisabeth Gaskel
The Bungalow Mystery Carolyne Keene
Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
Strangely Beautiful Leanna Renee Hieber
The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum
The Silvered by Tanya Huff
The Sign of the Twisted Candles Carolyn Keene

My self-help/business kick continued in August before finally petering off and turning into a bit of a book slump in September. My writing and my reading didn’t go much of anywhere, but did pick up again near the end of the month, when I read 5 books in very quick succession. The highlights were The Silvered and Cinder, but I was less thrilled with my nonfiction reads in general.

Book News:

indefenseofmushrooms1400Both The Night Wars Collection and the Evie Cappelli prequel novella In Defense of Mushrooms are out now. Want more info? You can find the Q&A posts for both books here and here, and as always, I updated the books tab above with all the latest news and updates.