Tags

, , , , ,

FullSizeRender If you were afraid I’d given up crafting after the past few months, fear not! (Were you scared? I was. I’ve hardly been crafting at all since May.)

While I’m still working on the second pair of purple socks, there has been a good deal of progress made–at least, compared to the last time I showed them to you. I’m about halfway done with the foot at the moment, and debating between an afterthought heel, or trying out the Fish Lips Kiss heel, which is supposed to provide a better fit without the holes or gaps that always seem to happen with the afterthoughts.

IMG_3631 (1)To give my hand/wrist time to recover, I dug through my stash and found my Very Last Emergency Ball of Roving, and pulled out my spinning wheel. I’ve been spinning and binging on Black Books on Netlfix, as well as the 2nd season of Raiders of the Lost Art. While it may not look like there’s much there, I tend to spin very, very fine singles, so there’s quite a lot of yardage. Just what you see here represents about six to seven hours of spinning.

The fiber is a shetland cross I got last year or the year before at the World of Ohio fair at the village. It’s coarser and sheepier than I would normally use (i.e. it has a rougher texture and more lanolin–that’s sheep grease for you non-knitters), but it spins up wonderfully well. I will probably have to give away the completed yarn because it will irritate my skin if I try to wear it and Missouri will probably break out in hives if she touches it, but I am enjoying the spinning portion. Once this is gone, I’ll have to order more fiber from Etsy or something; my wheel has been sadly neglected since we moved into this apartment, and there’s really no reason for it. I need to start spinning more.

IMG_3609

I’m not sure where Loki thinks I’m shipping him, but he’s been “packing” all week. I don’t have the heart to throw away the box now.