June Wrap Up

Tags

, , , , , ,

The Goals:

  1. Be active for 30 minutes 5x per week.
    This is getting nowhere. I need a new goal, because obviously, this one isn’t working for me/accomplishing what I want. I do go for a 30 minute walk pretty much every day, but this just isn’t working.
  2. Polish 3 manuscripts
    1/3 complete!
  3. Pay off 2 debts
    Working on it. I need a bigger paycheck.

The Books:

Books read:

The Haunted Bookshop Christopher Morley
David Copperfield Charles Dickens
Harmony Black Craig Schaefer
The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James
An Inquest into Love and Death by Simone St. James
Skullduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

Most of these books were rated about 3 stars for me. They were good, but no real standouts except for Skullduggery Pleasant. This is the first book in a middle grade/YA series about a young Irish girl who gets pulled into a world of magic and misdeeds. I picked it up because the reviewer said it was “better than Harry Potter.” Dubious but hopeful, I found a copy at Half-Price Books, and then allowed it to marinate on my bookshelf for six months or so. I’m glad I finally picked it up, though. I love the dialogue and the voices of the characters; I swear to you that Stephanie, our heroine, could have been Missouri when she was twelve. She’s feisty and funny, and someone that every girl should read about.

Harmony Black was a long shot for me this month. It was a freebie on Amazon a while back, so I downloaded it. The first time I tried to read it, I was in the wrong head space and put it down after less than a chapter. This time I read it all the way through, and I did enjoy it. Will it be my new go-to urban fantasy series? Probably not. Will I read book two? Not sure yet. I’ll keep you posted.

I did listen to two Simone St. James novels this month while waiting for some other library books to become available. They’re quick, creepy, historical paranormal mystery books. Look for a more in depth review of her books soon.

Book News:

Last week I was able to reveal the cover for my next publication–The Night Wars Collection, which is a compendium of all of the Night Wars short stories thus far, which includes two stories from yours truly. Look for the official announcement in July; the book will be out on August 6.

Also, now through June 30, you can get 35% off my book or any other on my publisher’s website with the code “Pride2016.”

Spiders Web Banner v1

Save

Leave a Reply

