Tags

, , ,

DSCF1121

Finally managed to finish the lace weight arm warmers. Those took FOREVER. Remind me to never do that again. I also made a washcloth.

I’m finally getting some of my crafting energy back. Not sure what the trigger was–no, scratch that. I think I do. I was sick for part of last week and spent the better part of three days in bed with Netflix, watching When Calls the Heart, Great British Castles, and Raiders of the Lost Art–and doing more knitting that I’ve done in quite a while. I finished one project, started and finished another, and then began a third.

I have a bad habit of trying to DO ALL THE THINGS. It’s one way that you can tell I’m related to my dad; we are complete workaholics, except most of my work I’m not getting paid for right now.

At any rate, those few days of rest were much overdue, apparently, and I feel better for them. I’m trying to cut back a little on my to-do list. As much as I want to, I can’t work full time, write full time, keep house, volunteer, work out, design, read, AND learn a new language.

So, for the time being, I’m putting a few things on hold. I’ve set aside Duolingo for a while, and I’ve finally decided that I need to walk away from my design work. I know that I haven’t put out a lot of patterns in the last year or two, but I have been trying to put together a few. I would still like to write a pattern book at some point, but it just takes too much out of me. As much as I love making new things from my head and designing in that way, the actual pattern writing drives me up a wall. I hate doing it. I want my patterns to be perfect, and I don’t have the resources to produce the kind of patterns I want to provide.

I’m not going to stop blogging my knitting and crafting, I’m just making a conscious decision not to follow it as a career path anymore, at least not for a while. When I look at the list of things I love and try to do regularly, publishing patterns just didn’t rank high enough for me to keep it as a focus. I would rather put my energy into my volunteer work or my writing.

My patterns will still be available through this blog as well as through Ravelry, and I will be providing support. I may even put out a few little designs here or there if the mood strikes me, but I’m no longer going to actively design for the market. I do have one more pattern in the pipeline that should be out sometime soon, but I don’t know when.

So, moving forward, there’s going to be a little less “knot” and a little more “magick” (fantasy, books, etc) in the blog.