Tags

, , , ,

Okay, so it sounds a little creepy to say it like that. But seriously, I am now obsessed with her books. I’ve read two in the last month and just bought a third.

I reviewed The Cure for Dreaming in April, and just finished The Uninvited last week. The Uninvited was actually the first of her books to show up on my radar; I saw a review last July, a month before the book came out and knew immediately that I HAD to read it. I added the ebook to my library wishlist as soon as it came out, but held off reading it in the hope that there would be an audiobook edition. I finally got to listen to it last week, and it was definitely worth the wait.

Winters writes delightfully creepy ghost stories that take place in the years just before, during, and after WWI. Her worlds are dark, but have bright spots of joy, romance, and humor, populated with layered characters and leads that are both spunky and vulnerable, confident in themselves, but uncertain of their places in the world as it is torn apart by war and disease.

If you are looking for something to keep you up at night, turning pages, the you should really check out her books. I just got her first novel, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, and I can’t wait to read it.