Tags

,

Bleh. I hope that you guys are doing better than I am. Lately, I’ve had tons of ideas, and absolutely no followthrough whatsoever.

I think that part of my problem is that I’m just feeling discouraged in general with my writing. I started querying my 2012 Nano novel in May. 40+ letters sent out, and so far every single one has come back a rejection, if I got a response at all. I’ve still got 5 or 6 I’m waiting to hear back on, but once those are marked off, that’s it. That’s my entire list of agents.

Bleh.

But, I need to put all of that aside, right? We’re getting into crunch time. Only two more weeks to go!

Week of Oct. 19: Keep outlining. Figure out what program or tool you will be using, and make sure that it is in working order. Double check your stock of supplies, and arrange for a backup. Daily word count goal is 1200.

Once again, I’ll primarily be using Scrivener this year. I really like that I can view two sections of the story at the same time, and how easy it is to find the parts of the story I’m looking for. I also really like the wordcount goal tool. The one thing that I don’t like is the way it always turns italicized characters to underlined when I compile to Microsoft Word.:/

I’ll also be using Caffrey, the SC Sterling for write ins since it seems to help me focus. I can usually do about 12 pages in a sitting if I’m using it at a write in.

Backups this year include 2 digital backups (Microsoft One drive, which I’m just starting to use, and Dropbox) (P.S. if you are interested in a free Dropbox account, let me know. You’ll get free storage and I’ll be able to increase mine, which I desperately need!) as well as a new flash drive.

Which reminds me, I need to back up my files again.

Do you have your backup yet?