Tags

, , ,

How are you guys hanging in? Have you started your prep work yet?

Much to my surprise, I managed to bang out the rest of my outline this week. At the start of the week, I confess that I was struggling. My plot made an unexpected left turn, and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Then I managed to add in another character that not only forced the plot back onto the path it needed to be on, but also tied it neatly back to not only book one in the series, but also links it up to book three. I also now know that book two will end on a cliffhanger. :wiggles eyebrows slyly:

So what is on tap for this week?

Week of Sept. 28: Work on your player stats. Put together your 1 page summary of your story, and make a list of themes, important settings, names, and one sentence bios for your main characters. Daily word count goal for this week is 750.

Since I am continuing a story I started last year, I’ve already got most of this done. I did my summary, themes, etc last year as part of my prep work.

Five hundred words a day, thus far, has been easy. I did skip a day, but most days I hit the 750-1000 mark anyway.

Really, the best way to prep for Nano? Don’t make writing a once a year event. I know it sounds kind of obvious. But if you are in the habit of writing even 1,000 words a day, then upping that number for a month isn’t such a struggle, particularly if you are prepared in other ways. Even just writing journal entries or fanfiction (or a daily blog post) gets your mind and body in the habit of being ass-in-chair for thirty minutes or an hour or however long it takes to do what you need to do. This blog post? Three hundred fifty words. Two quickie posts written in a day–less than 30 minutes–and I’ve nearly hit my goal. So what’s another fifty words on top of it?

You can do it. I know you can.