Tags

, , ,

A couple of weeks ago my Facebook feed was making a big deal about the ABC Family Halloween movie line up. Personally, I thought that it was a little lackluster. And then I looked at my own movie collection and though, I can do better.

Halloween is my favorite holiday. I’m not a horror fan. You won’t find me watching Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Poltergeist or anything like that. But I love a good, dark fantasy.  There is a certain aesthetic, a specific feeling that I associate with Halloween that is much more complex that just ax murderers.

So here is my list of 31 films and TV shows I’ll be watching in October. If you are looking for family movie ideas, please note that the bulk of these are okay for most kids over the age about 10 or so, though a lot of them will probably appeal more to teenagers.

In no particular order:

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas
  2. The Corpse Bride
  3. Paranorman
  4. Practical Magic
  5. Underworld
  6. Underworld Evolution
  7. The Covenant
  8. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  9. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  10. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  11. …Goblet of Fire
  12. …Order of the Pheonix
  13. …Half Blood Prince
  14. …Deathly Hallows I
  15. …Deathly Hallows II
  16. Hocus Pocus
  17. Frankenweanie
  18. Monster house
  19. The Craft
  20. Sweeny Todd
  21. Interview with the Vampire
  22. Coraline
  23. Snow White: Tale of Terror
  24. Casper
  25. The Addams Family
  26. The Addams Family Values
  27. The Brother’s Grimm
  28. Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters
  29. Batman Begins
  30. Hellboy
  31. The Phantom of the Opera

Bonus! Don’t like the list above? Try subbing in a few episodes or one of these movies:

  1. Inkheart
  2. Blood Ties
  3. Ghost Hunt
  4. Ghost Hunters
  5. Ghost Hunters International
  6. The Mummy
  7. The Mummy Returns
  8. Descendants of Darkness
  9. Witch Hunter Robin
  10. Buffy the Vampires Slayer
  11. Angel
  12. Charmed
  13. Constantine (either the movie or the tv show. Your choice)
  14. Supernatural
  15. Hellboy 2
  16. Redeye
  17. A Series of Unfortunate Events
  18. American Horror Story
  19. Sleepy Hollow
  20. Penny Dreadful
  21. City of Bones
  22. Beautiful Creatures
  23. The Secret Circle
  24. Jane Eyre
  25. The Witches of East End
  26. The Awakening
  27. Hotel Transylvania
  28. Sleepy Hollow (1999)
  29. The Tower of Terror
  30. Ghost Cat
  31. Mockingbird Lane

What are your favorite Halloween movies? Anything planned other than the Charlie Brown Halloween?