Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve got several for you this week! It’s very exciting!

DSCF0829Linen Stitch Kindle sleeve

Pattern: n/a

Yarn: Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable in Dragonfly

Needles: US 4, I think?

Notes: I bought several skeins of this yarn in different colors a couple of years ago (actually, here is the post) and finally got around to using some of them this month. I love the colors, but this yarn can be hard to work with since it is a roving-style single–very loosely spun, easily split or broken. I’m not real crazy about the halo or the fact that it is acrylic, but it is pretty and I wanted something ah…water repellant.

DSCF0832I do like the way it looks in linen stitch, though. I generally like the way this stitch looks, and use it pretty often, especially when I want a project to lie flat.

I realized after casting off, however, that I’d forgotten to add a button hole. That’s okay; I still have about 1/2 a ball left, so it won’t be a big deal to unpick the cast off and add a few more rows once I decide what button I want to use.

 

DSCF0835Elizabeth’s Snood

Pattern: n/a

Yarn: basic cotton crochet thread

Hook: No idea. I used a vintage hook I inherited from my grandma and it didn’t have a size on it. I can tell you that it is a lace size, however, and too small for any of the hook/needle gauges in my collection.

 Notes: I didn’t use a pattern, but I did use my own snood as a model. It’s such a basic pattern that I’ve never really bothered to write it down. DSCF0836Maybe I should? But I’m sure that there are lots of very similar–or even identical–patterns already on the market.
I’ve already wrapped this up and tucked it away in my village kit so that I can give it to the young volunteer it is intended for this weekend. I even tied it up with a pretty ribbon, so she’ll have one she can use either to tighten it to her head size or simply to use as a decoration. I tried to find one that would coordinate with her costume, but I’m not sure that I succeeded. I really hope she likes it!

 

DSCF0824Tentacular Spectacular

Pattern: Release the Kraken!

Yarn: Main color is Red Heart Soft Touch in Teal, contrast color is Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable in Parrot (told you that yarn was going to show up again!)

Hook: I (5.5mm)DSCF0821

Notes: I was asked to reverse-engineer a pattern that someone found online, and was able to whip this up in about 3 days–2, if you don’t count the evening I spent swatching. The pattern is now available through my Ravelry shop or on my pattern page here on the blog, and is free through July 31, 2015.
I’ve been doing a lot of crocheting lately, and I’m about ready for a break! Still, this came together so fast it surprised even me. I’m thinking about doing a knitted version, since all of the tentacle scarf patterns I looked at before (just to make sure no one had beat me to it) were crochet. Crochet works great for underwater stuff and is very popular for marine-themed projects, but maybe there’s an untapped market…
Or maybe crocheters are just the right kind of weird to be making tentacle scarves.🙂