Tags

,

I’ve been getting lazy with my Friday posts. I usually reserve Fridays for all things crafty, but lately I’ve been really, really lazy. Heat? Lack of ambition? General lethargy? I don’t know.

I was in a minor knitting slump for a while, right before I started the cowl. I think I’ve mentioned this before, but the amount of knitting I do directly correlates to my stress levels. It’s shocking how much less knitting I do when I can actually pay the bills.

That’s not to say that my stressors have gone up and that’s why I’m knitting more again. More like some of my anxiety randomly decided to come back; I have no reason to be wound up, I just am. The best I can come up with is that it’s June, and the last couple of years by birthday has been overshadowed by horrible news–like last year, when I lost my job just a week or two prior, and spent my birthday wondering which bills I would pay and how we would eat. Summer 2013 was spent praying I wouldn’t need a new computer, and I spent all of June and July 2012 fighting with my insurance, recovering from an illness, and not eating because of the aforesaid treatments that the insurance wouldn’t cover.

And here I used to look forward to summer. Anymore, it seems like all the worst crap decides to happen when it’s hot out.

photo 2

Kindle case in progress. No picture of the cowl, because it hasn’t changed much since last time.

Anyway, I’m taking out my anxiety on my knitting. In addition to the cowl, I also cast on for a kindle sleeve. I prefer to use a kindle case, both of the ones I have are slightly too big to fit inside my favorite purse.

Despite all of this, I am determined to enjoy my summer. My family is celebrating my birthday/fathers day this weekend, and next weekend is going to start the busy part of summer for me, since pretty much every weekend will be spent either at the Village or at a car show.

Which reminds me, I have some sewing to do.