writing

Letters from Camp

How are the Nano Campers doing on their goals?

I confess. I suck. I’ve written a total of 400 new words on my Camp Nano story this month. I did absolutely no prep work, and it shows. I’m not even in the right head space for this story right now, so I think I’m just going to go back to the book I was editing in the first place and try to crank through those last eight chapters that need revising. AJ will still be there in July and again in November; I can finish her story then, after I have the first book in the series completely nailed down (and, hopefully, off to a publisher).

I have a hypothetical for you writerly types. Say that you have a finished draft. Polished up nice and shiny, ready to go out to an agent or publisher. Say that you have a previous relationship with a publishing house, one where you have a pretty decent shot of having this work accepted with minimal changes during the revision process. BUT, this is a small house, and your book will probably never see a print run at a major book store. On the other hand, you could query dozens and dozens of agents and publishers that you have no connection to, and wait months for a response that will probably be no. But if one happens to say yes, it would mean your book shows up at B&N and all of those other bookshops. The trade off is that there might be changes required of the story to make it more “marketable.” Which do you choose?

2 thoughts on “Letters from Camp”

  1. Difficult question! “What sacrifices are you prepared to make in order to be published?” Whoever edits your book, they will at some point want to do things to it that you won’t really want to do… Best of luck whatever you choose to do. Fun. Scary. Worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

