Uncategorized

(Semi-) Monthly Goal Update

I’ve been neglecting this lately, so here we go:

1. Find something active to do indoors

This is just a massive fail. I have had zero motivation for physical activity for months now. I know I need to do better. I know that I’ll feel better if I do. But when I’ve got writing and editing to do, knitting and design projects that need finished, a huge stack of library books–well, you get the picture. I’m sure everyone has about 30,000 excuses for not working out, but I have yet to find the one thing that will motivate me to actually do it.

Working out is boring. Until I can find a way to make it interesting, then I think this one is going to be on perpetual hold.

2. Finish 2 manuscripts by the end of the year

Hopefully, Nano will be what pushes this one to completion, but if not I have another story waiting in the wings. I was not able to finish my earlier project as I’d hoped, but it is waiting patiently for me to return to it in December.

3. Save up for a trip in 2015

I am slowly working on this. We are planning on going to Steampunk Symposium in April, so I am saving up for that. There’s also the possibility of another trip (remember the Chicago/Williamsburg debate? We’ve also added Gettysburg into the mix; right now it is the front runner), but that is still up in the air. First and foremost, I need a bed that is not inflatable and supported by plastic storage totes. There is also the matter of the debt I incurred while unemployed, which I am still contending with.

And yes, I am still employed. 🙂

1 thought on “(Semi-) Monthly Goal Update”

  1. Congratulations on your continued employment.

    A friend of mine just got a job after being laid off over 2 years. Jobs are scarce whether or not the politicians want to admit it.

    Do you like yoga? Plenty of self-yoga on line and it is easy enough to do with relaxing music, or if you like regular exercising lively up-tempo music, an MP3 player and earbuds. You can do it!

    Saving for a trip can be fun. Save all the ‘you saved x-amount’ from the grocery store. You know, when you spend all your money and the cashier says ‘thank you for Korgering, you saved $50.00 today’. When they do that I wonder, why did my groceries cost so much if I saved all that money.

    Gettysburg can be fun. You can spend months there. I went to college near-by and spent endless off-season hours on the trails. If you do not have months, spend the extra and hire a personal tour guide. Well worth the money as we found out this past summer. The bus tour (been on several) are just not as informative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

