Tags

, , , ,

I did not know that being unemployed would keep me so busy! Last week my brain was going in about sixty different directions at once, and I could not get it to slow down enough to write a coherent blog post. I’m still having a little bit of trouble in that realm, as you will see in a moment.

The good news–I’ve gotten a lot of writing done. Lots. Not as much as I wanted to get done, but I made myself a schedule every single day, and for the most part I stuck to it. The last few days I haven’t really been quite as accomplished, but I’ll get to that in a moment.

I put in lots of hours at the historical society, applied to tons and tons of jobs over the past few weeks, and have basically been using my time to better myself. Lots of house cleaning, and I’ve been working on learning German and French using an app on my Kindle (would anyone be interested in seeing a review for it? If y’all want to know how it’s working for me, then I can do that even though it’s a little off topic).

And so far, it looks like all of that has paid off. Today I report for my new job. All I’m going to say for now is that I’ll be working for a marketing company. It’s not where I want to end up, but it’s going to give me a lot of opportunities for the future that I can hopefully parlay into the position that I actually want.

I’m happy to be gainfully employed again, but as I shift gears yet again it’s got me feeling a little scattered. I thought that I might distract you all with some interesting tidbits that I turned up recently online:

YA fiction and adults
This article is a few weeks old, but I do find it to be extremely relevant. It’s one writer’s opinion as to why so many people in their 20s and 30s read young adult fiction, and I think that there are a lot of good points in it. I keep finding myself stuck in that awkward generation that is “grown” but can’t grow due to environmental factors. I think the author sums up a lot of my own opinions better than I could.

Overpainted classic
This one was making it’s rounds through my social networks over the weekend, and it’s truly fascinating. A museum Pennsylvania had a painting that it was considering getting rid of, when when of the curators noticed something odd. After consulting with a conservator who shared her opinion, they had some imaging done on it and discovered that no, it wasn’t a copy of a Renaissance work, but an actual piece from the time period that had been pained over about 300 years later to make it more “marketable.”

The thing that caught my eye in this article was that it was originally thought to be a portrait of Eleonora di Toledo by Bronzino. If you’ve been around here for a while, then you might remember my obsession with all things Medici back when I was living in Florence, and Eleonora in particular. I did a lot of research on her while I was there, which meant looking at a lot of Bronzinos, since he was the official Medici family artist at the time. One look and it was pretty clear to me that that was neither the correct artist nor subject, and lo and behold, it turned out that the original painting was that of her daughter! They still don’t know who the artist is, but if you read the article there’s a lot of interesting information there about the painting and why it might have been changed and how. I think I’m going to have to add the Carnegie Museum of Art to my future road trip list.

That’s it for now. I do have a few finished objects that I’ll try to photograph this week so I can share them on Friday. It’s been way too long since I finished anything.