Tags

,

These originally appeared on Sci-Fi Signal, but I first saw them on Gail Carriger’s blog and wanted to give them a go.

The first science fiction, fantasy or horror book I ever read was:
The first one that I remember reading…probably Harry Potter, in 7th grade, but I read some in elementary school that I just don’t consider to be fantasy–Sisters Long Ago (which involves reincarnation), and then there were a total of about four novels involving ghost cats and horses, though I don’t remember most of the titles (though I do remember that the one with the cat was cleverly titled “Ghost Cat.”) Oh, wait. There was A Wrinkle in Time in 6th grade. Prior to that, though, I mostly read historical fiction.

The last science fiction, fantasy or horror book I read that I’d put in my “Top 20″ list is:
I’m not sure that it would make the cut for Top 20, but I just finished The Dark Unwinding series, and it was very good. The Shadowmagic books by John Lenahan are another series that is extremely good and would rank in my list of favorites.

The last science fiction, fantasy or horror book I couldn’t finish was:
The Girl in the Clockwork Collar. I love the world that Kady Cross creates, and I love the characters and the plot. But there are too many points where her research, I found, was lacking. I know that it’s an alternate-reality type story, but still.

A science fiction, fantasy or horror author whose work I cannot get enough of is:
There are so many! The top one on the list right now is probably Gail Carriger, though I’m waiting for the next Diviner’s book by Libba Bray. And I’m slightly obsessed with Rick Riordan.

A science fiction, fantasy or horror author I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t read yet is:
Probably Neil Gaiman. I’ve read one of his books (The Graveyard Book), but that’s all.

A science fiction, fantasy or horror book I would recommend to someone who hasn’t read sf/f/h is…
Either Soulless or Shadowmagic, because if you can get them laughing, then you’ve won them over, in my opinion.

A science fiction, fantasy or horror book that’s terribly underrated is:
I think that I’m going to have to go with Urban Shaman on this one. It’s fairly popular in the sf/f/h community, but really…why is this not a television series yet?

A science fiction, fantasy or horror book that’s terribly overrated is:
Twilight. Really, the writing is terrible and the relationships are worse.