Tags

, ,

As inevitably happens, I realized that I’d forgotten a few things in the earlier posts from this series.

Honorable Mention: Middle Ages
Robin Hood
I’m not speaking specifically about the BBC television show, though I have heard good things about that. One of my favorite books is a retelling from 1921 by Sara Hawks Sterling. I will also admit to being a huge fan of Robin Hood: Men in Tights, and even of Prince of Theives, primarily because of Alan Rickman as the Sheriff. I’ve read several versions of the Robin Hood myth in middle and high school, and it’s always been a favorite for me–probably because I used to be an archer myself.

Honorable Mention: Renaissance
Eleonora’s Stockings
I’m not quite sure how I managed to talk about Renaissance Italy and not talk about these stockings, since they were, after all, the inspiration for my thesis when I was studying conservation. These beautiful stockings have had me intrigued for years. They’re one of those items where if I was ever offered a position where I could handle them, see them in person, I would be on a plane and back in Florence before anyone could stop me. They have a unique construction and I would love to see them up close, with good lighting and without a pane of glass in the way. I can’t say that they had a huge impact on the history of knitting or fashion, but they and their wearer did have an impact on me.

Honorable Mention: 1700s
Ann Rinaldi
Ann Rinaldi was one of my favorite authors when I was in middle school. She writes primarily Revolutionary-era fiction, but has other books that go all the way up into the 1930s. If you are looking for good, YA historical fiction, particularly geared at girls or showing strong women, then she’s a great place to start. Two of my favorites are The Secret of Sarah Revere and An Acquaintance with Darkness, but really you can’t go wrong with any of her books.

Honorable Mentions: Victorian
Little Women and A Tale of Two Cities
Honestly, I could go on for days about the Victorian era, but I thought that these two at least deserved a brief mention, since they represent two of my favorite books read in in 2013. I’ve never seen a film version of A Tale of Two Cities that I can comment on (does Wishbone count?) but I will say that my favorite Little Women is still the 1949 version. These are both books that intimidated me when I was younger, either because of their length or subject matter, but I’m so glad that I read them, and Little Women was a surprisingly quick read.