In my opinion, there are very few things that suck more than moving that don’t involve death or dismemberment. When you add moving on short notice (we didn’t find our current residence until 8 days before we had to be out of the old one), and having to do so with high winds, blowing snow, and into a place less than half the size of where we’d been…well, let’s just say that it’s challenging.

But we’re finally here and mostly unpacked. We’re still trying to find space for some things, mostly in the matchbox sized kitchen. As of this moment, we’re still waiting on our internet service. I could go on for days about how much fun that has been, but I’ll spare you.

But, this place is quiet, warm, and clean. There’s a large Asian population in the area, which is great because we’re walking distance from one of our favorite Japanese groceries, bakeries, and gift shops. There’s also a yarn shop. Did I mention the yarn shop? There’s even a thrift store, though I’ve yet to see a typewriter there.

I think part of my sanity might still be taped up in a box somewhere, but with luck I’ll find it this weekend.

I’m at the point right now where I’ve pretty much decided that if I have to move again, it will be into a motor home so that I never have to go through this again. It is one thing to be nomadic when you take your life with you. It’s another when you’re constantly having to sift through it and decide what can stay and what is worth hauling up a flight of stairs, or if you’ll just have to re-buy it at some point in the future.

While I’m considering it, though, here’s a temporary plan B. New York to San Francisco would take about a week, right?