One of the books I’m reading at the moment is Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World by Matthew Goodman. It’s a work of non-fiction, about the 1889 race between two female journalists traveling around the world in opposing directions in an effort to not only outdo each other, but to beat the 80 day would tour by the fictional Phileas Fogg in Jules Verne’s Around the World in Eighty Days.

I read Around the World late last year (er, sorry. 2012), and loved it. Since I’m always up for a story about a daring, adventurous woman, I couldn’t resist picking up a book about two of them when I was at the library recently.

I’m just over halfway through it (hence the post title), and let me tell you, I can feel myself coming down with another case of the travel bug. At the point where I am now, Nellie Bly has just landed in Ceylon, Elizabeth Bisland has just left Hong Kong, and their paths are about to cross somewhere in the neighborhood of Singapore. I’ve never been on a long boat journey, though I’d love to take a cruise one day. Right now, I’d love to take a long rail tour. I found one that follows the Silk Road and looks fascinating–but costs more than I make in a year. I guess I’ll just have to keep saving my pennies in the hopes that one day I’ll be able to take another trip. Maybe this one?

It doesn’t even have to take 80 days, much as I’d love to be gone that long. I’d settle for five or seven.