Tags

, ,

Every year I usually do short lists of gift ideas for knitters, for those looking for last minute ideas (last year’s is here). This year, I though that I’d do something a little different, and list a few of the things that I’m hoping will be under the Christmas tree this year. Some of them are realistic, some of them not so much. Take it with a grain of salt and do what you will.🙂

:drumroll: So, here are the five knitting/crafting things that I would love to receive this year:

1. Spinning fiber
I ran out of spinning fiber a few weeks ago, and have been drooling over some of the offerings on Etsy ever since, like these. Undyed fiber is also great, since you can pick and choose your colors, and how they blend.

2. Kindle/Nook

3. Knitting Books
Be they for reference or simple inspiration, a knitter can never have too many books. A few of the ones at the top of my list are: Ancient Egypt in Lace and Color, The Knitter’s Book of Finishing Techniques, Doomsday Knits, and Needles and Artifice.

4. SwiftThese are so useful for winding yarn, and they save so much time and hassle (and annoyance, if you’re the cohabitant who gets wrangled into holding the skein of yarn open otherwise).

5. Charkha
This is a special kind of spinning wheel developed in India. It’s designed for cotton, but can be used for other fibers. They’re travel size, light weight, and I think just plain interesting. I’d love to get my hands on one.

A modern travel charkha from New Voyager.