It feels good to bring books and reading back into this blog. Last year, I was so stressed that reading was difficult. I had trouble finding the head space to sit down; I’d get bored, or distracted, or anxious, feeling like I was wasting my time by not working on something productive. I might read a chapter, but when I closed the book I couldn’t have told you what happened in it. I tried audio books, but I’m not an aural learner by nature and found those even harder to concentrate on.

So I did a lot of knitting and watched a lot of movies, and tried to write when I could.

I still haven’t done a lot of reading this year; not even a quarter of what I would like. but it’s coming back. I’m hoping that once I get Censored off of my desk, I’ll be ready to start working on fiction full time again, since I have way too many of those projects waiting to be completed.

One step at a time.
—–
It’s started to warm up a little around here. We’ve opened the windows once or twice to let things air out. I’ve even seen the sun a few times, which lends a sense of optimism to any situation. It feels like things are finally starting to look up. I don’t know how far up they’re going to go, but right now I’ll settle for baby steps.

Just a little at a time.