Currently Reading: The Son of Neptune
In the DVD player: Blood Ties

Thanks in part to blogs like Stitchpunk, I’ve caught the embroidery bug of late. At first I was just going to work on my practice sampler until my tendonitis got a bit better and I could knit again (did I mention I haven’t been able to knit for over a week now?), but then I decided that I could do better and started something completely new.

This will be the first of two wallhangings I’m working on for my room. What you see here is about the 1/2 mark; in the background I’ll be adding gears and some flourishes.While I was happy with it, I wasn’t sure exactly how it was turning out since it’s been so long since I’ve really been around a lot of embroidery and most of what I see is done by machine. This is all done by hand, one stitch at a time. I guess it must be turning out rather well, since my roommate handed me a piece of patterned fabric and $5 worth of embroidery floss requesting a similar piece for her room. Maybe I should go into business.